Exploring the Historical Monuments and Memorials of Williamson County, Tennessee

The Confederacy Monument, also known as Chip or Our Confederate Soldiers, is a historic landmark located on the grounds of the Williamson County Courthouse in Franklin, Tennessee. It was the sixth such statue in the United States honoring USCT soldiers and the first to be placed in a public square. The monument was introduced to nearly a hundred interested citizens by Ms. Helen Gildea, president of the Franklin Business and Professional Women's Club.

In addition to the Confederacy Monument, visitors to Williamson County can also explore the Public Library in Memory of War, which was formally opened on Saturday, June 26, 1937. The opening ceremony took place in the Public Square in Franklin, Tennessee, at noon. The library was established by the Auxiliary Army of the American Legion in the 1920s and was introduced by W Drury, librarian at the Carnegie Library in Nashville and president of the Tennessee Library Association. The opening of the library began a six-month demonstration period to determine whether Williamson County residents wanted a public library. At the time of its installation, questions were raised about Confederate monuments in Franklin and across the South due to a Ku Klux Klan demonstration called “United to the Right” in Charlottesville, Virginia. Such events would be considered totally unacceptable in modern society. Today, there are several monuments and memorials available for public viewing in Williamson County, Tennessee.

These include the Confederacy Monument, the Public Library in Memory of War, and other monuments dedicated to USCT soldiers. Visitors can learn more about these monuments and memorials by visiting local museums or researching online. Williamson County is home to a rich history that is reflected in its monuments and memorials. Exploring these sites is an excellent way to gain insight into the past and understand how far we have come as a society.